The grace period for new cars is the time during which insured drivers can drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to an existing car insurance policy. In Texas, you are not legally required to have non-homeowners auto insurance to drive someone else's vehicle if the owner is insured. Losses resulting from an accident will usually be covered by the car owner's policy. However, even if your homeowner has car insurance, the level of protection you have depends on the coverage limits you have chosen.
If you borrow the vehicle on a regular basis, you may want to purchase your own non-owner auto insurance so that you have peace of mind that you are well protected from liability. In Texas, the grace period for new car insurance is generally 2 to 30 days. This implies that any insured driver can drive a newly purchased car for 2 to 30 days before adding it to their existing car insurance policy. However, each company handles this differently, and the type of coverage your call will have may also vary.
If you do not have an existing policy, you will be required to provide proof of minimum liability coverage before you can drive your new car on Texas roads. Having car insurance is one of your main responsibilities as a driver in Texas. Legally, You Can't Get Behind the Wheel of a Vehicle Until You've Purchased Proper Car Insurance. Insurance requirements protect all road users in the event of traffic accidents.
After a collision in Texas, it will be the responsibility of the at-fault party to take care of everyone else's bills. Usually, you will do this through an insurance policy. Driving without insurance in Texas is a violation that could result in serious penalties. Because Texas has such a big problem with uninsured drivers, the penalties for driving without car insurance are especially severe.
Your insurance company can also help you decide if it's a good idea to add special coverage options to your policy. If you live in Texas, you may be wondering if it is mandatory for drivers who don't have vehicles to have non-homeowner's car insurance. This means that the auto insurance policy of the vehicle you are driving will be used first, and then your non-owner policy will come into play if you have higher liability coverage limits than the car owner. Failure to provide proof of insurance through an insurance card, declaration page or insurance folder will result in modest fines.
Insurance companies in Texas send all their customers' policy information to TexAssure, allowing law enforcement officers to check the status of your insurance policy when they stop you. For example, if you need to submit an SR-22 certificate but your current insurer does not offer it, you can meet this obligation by obtaining a supplemental non-owner policy from another insurance company. If you are caught driving without insurance for the second time and on subsequent occasions, the penalties will become more severe. If you are in the country without proper documentation, you most likely do not have a valid driver's license, so it's impossible to get insurance.
If you get or recover your license while the car is insured, you must notify your insurance company and provide your new license number before you are legally insured on the policy. You can use your non-owner auto liability insurance as secondary coverage if you are driving someone else's vehicle and are in an accident. You will have to pay out of pocket to recover your vehicle and reinstate your driver's license after showing proof of vehicle insurance. If you have never owned a car before and are going to buy the first one, you must have at least minimum liability coverage to be able to get it out on the road.
Therefore, the time within which you can notify your insurance company of the purchase of your car will also range from 2 to 30 days. When looking for your next car insurance policy, go to the Lone Star location at Reata Insurance Group. While it may only serve as supplemental coverage, non-homeowners auto insurance can help you avoid financial disaster if you cause an accident with someone else's vehicle. .